Alumni Restoration

IMG_20150730_160951

I graduated from the university of Lincoln last September and while I was there I met loads of amazing people so when the opportunity came to meet up with alumni at an event in London I just had to take it.

The event was held at the St. pancras Renaissance hotel in London and is an absolutely stunning venue and as it turns out the setting for a certain spice girls video. I even managed to get a first class ticket on my way down and arrived a couple of hours early to do some sightseeing.

DSCN7374

To that end I took a walk down the south bank towards the London Eye when I came across this incredible street artist. He had already generated an impressive crowd by the time i got there and rightly so. His talents were certainly impressive and it was nice to take a break there on such a lovely day. I wish I could have stayed longer but there was only so much time in the day and I still had much that I wanted to do.

I took in a lot of sights that day from the Houses of Parliament to Buckingham Palace and everything in between. One of my favourite places to visit is Forbidden Planet so I just had to pop in while I was in the area. I had also hoped to visit the Harry Potter shop at Kings Cross but it being the middle of summer it was rather busy and I didn’t have a whole lot of time to spare anyways.

IMG_20150730_190628970 I had a good time at the event and it was really nice to catch up with fellow graduates of the University of Lincoln including several who I had worked with as a Student Ambassador. It was also a great opportunity to meet people who had graduated years before and hear about there experience during and after life at university. As it turned out the venue was also home to a certain spice girls video and the location for a scene from Batman Begins and both proved interesting topics on conversation.

Overall I had a really enjoyable day and I am so glad I went, if there are more of these events I will be sure to attend as it is always good to hear about what people have been up to as well as meeting new people and finding out about them. The venue was absolutely incredible and even though I didn’t get home until very early in the morning, I had a great time and I look forward to doing it again at some point in the future.

Leave a Reply

