Steam in the 1940’s

The North Norfolk Railway held its annual 1940’s event this weekend and I went along to it with my dad for the first time in years. This was the first one in ages that I was free to go to it so I was excited to see it all again and boy was I not disappointed.

DSCN7404

When we got to the Park and Ride, we were treated to a short ride on this rather fine looking bus. It packed a lot of people on and was a great way to start the day.

Arriving at Holt where there was so much to do, they had stalls, fashion plus a host of amazing performers, who sang songs from the era. We checked it all out before taking a seat on a train bound for sheringham and I am glad we got a seat when we did as the train was soon packed out. In fact every train I saw that day was full to bursting and it just goes to show how popular it has become.

DSCN7422IMG_20150919_131424401

We pulled into the station at Sheringham around lunchtime so we preceded to the food tent for what turned out to be a very tasty burger complemented by a nice cold coke. The band then started to play and we got to enjoy our food while watching people dancing in their period costumes. I took a lot of photos of the dancers that day and the picture on the right has to be one of my favourites.

DSCN7498However it wasn’t just the people who were dressed up as this little doggy looked quite fetching in his uniform. This dog had an interesting habit of jumping around a lot and just wouldn’t sit still so this was the best photo I could get of him. However I was rather impressed by the owners commitment to the overall them of the 1940’s weekend.

The trains themselves looked really good amongst all the people in their 1940’s outfits. I was particularly looking forward to seeing The Black Prince and the 8452 while I was there. These two trains were absolutely splendid to look at and taking photos of them in the atmosphere of the 1940’s was just an amazing experience.

IMG_20150919_141924492_HDRIMG_20150919_160432216_HDR

DSCN7433 - Version 3All in all I took about 200 photos that day and while that may seem like a lot, it was worth it to get this shot. What was great about it was that it wasn’t staged and just felt like such a spontaneous thing. It was amazing to see and I hope you enjoy this as much as I have.

Another thing that I enjoyed at the 1940’s weekend was the singers that performed songs next to Holt station. They sounded amazing and this just served to generate a fun atmosphere for all. People got up, danced and sang along to the tunes that were popular at the time. It was absolutely incredible and I had such a fun day. If you get the chance to attend the 1940’s weekend at the North Norfolk Railway, then I would highly recommend doing so. You will certainly have a lot of fun and make a lot of great memories in the process.

DSCN7570IMG_20150919_161112021_HDR

Leave a Reply

