The Drunk Tanner

Today I shall tell you about a game of One Night Ultimate Werwolf Daybreak that was better than I could have ever imagined it would be. It was a game that involved deduction, disbelief and a victory that no one saw coming, not even the person who won. But the evening didn’t start out that way, it started with teaching a few games to some new players and included my first ever 5 player game of carcassonne.

Carcassonne has been a part of the games that I usually bring to NoBoG since I started playing games there on a regular basis but I rarely get a chance to break it out. That was why I was surprised to play it with 3 others last week and why I was even more surprised when another 4 wanted to play it this week. I had never played it as a 5 player game before but I have to say that it went rather well, especially when I took the lead due to a rather well placed farmer.

IMG_20151013_204741999

I actually took a photo of our finished town after this weeks game and I have to say that it looks like a pretty nice place to live. The new players had varying degrees of success with one of them finishing in 2nd place with just one point between them and me. Being able to play it twice in as many weeks has been great but I think I will be looking for a slightly longer game to play next time.

After loosing one of our group, the four of us sat down and I taught some more people how to play both Guillotine and Sushi Go. One player wasn’t convinced by the value of puddings in sushi go, that is until it put them over the top and left me for second place. Next up we broke out Guillotine as did Lewis and co on the table next to ours. Now I have no idea how there game went but I do know that they probably did a lot better than me. Much like last week the new players did well with one guy claiming victory by just one point after another failed to spot a minus point from one of those dastardly grey nobles.

IMG_20151013_221812528

Mine and Lewis’s games came to an end at roughly the same time and he suggested that we should get some people together for a game of One Night Ultimate Werewolf, a decision he would later regret. So we gathered a group of ten to play the game which took a while to get going as we had to make sure that everyone had understood what they were meant to be doing. I was a Mason in the first game and after the night actions were done and the discussion concluded, we successfully killed off one of the werewolves.

Screen shot 2015-10-14 at 18.10.37 Screen shot 2015-10-14 at 18.10.26

I started of as a drunk in the second game, a role that I had never played before and so when I came to my turn I decided to take a risk and go for the middle card from the centre of the table. When it came to the discussion bit of the game I hesitated and someone took my drunk token first which made me look guilty when I then tired to claim it for myself. After some trickery from the Trouble-Maker I thought we had found the tanner and they all thought I was a werewolf.

At this point in the game I had no idea what I actually was and no one, not even Lewis believed that I had started of as the Drunk. I thought that I was still town and that the werewolves were about to win, little did I know what would happen next. The lynched me unanimously and by that point I was curious to see what role I had picked up from the centre. Lewis flipped over my card and it turned out that not only had I become the Tanner, I had just also won the game.

Screen shot 2015-10-14 at 18.00.14Screen shot 2015-10-14 at 18.00.34

Essentially the Tanner wants to be lynched, a role I usually have trouble with and somehow I had managed to do it without even trying. While I was excited to win I couldn’t quite believe that I had and neither could the other people at the table. I couldn’t quite believe it myself, I had no idea how it happened and I doubt it would ever happen again. Surprisingly enough this marks the second time that the werewolves have helped me to win as the Tanner and you know what I think I will always remember the time that I James Hayward was the Drunk Tanner.

Check out the people who make One Night Ultimate Werwolf for more info: Bezier Games

Check out what happened at NoBoG last week: 5 Games at NoBoG

5 thoughts on “The Drunk Tanner

Leave a Reply

