The October MCM 2015

MCM October 2015 was the first time that I had been to the event for the whole weekend and it was even better than I could have ever imagined it would be. I got to see some amazing cosplay, go to panels and the most important bit of all, I had a lot of fun.

I got to stay at the Travelodge on Stratford High street with four of my friends which was nice as it meant that we didn’t have to travel to far to the venue which is at the Excel centre. It also meant that we had a good place to come back to after the event, a place where we could grab some food, play some games and generally had a good laugh. The last con I went to was October 2014 an then I only came for one day so for this year it was just nice to be able to spend more time with friends and more time at MCM.

IMG_0109IMG_0106

I got a lot done in the day that came up last year so I was unsure as to whether the event would have enough for me to justify being up there for three days and after coming back, I have to say that it did. I cam up on the friday which meant missing the first few hours of MCM but at least I didn’t have to wait too long with everyone in the morning rush. Throughout the weekend I never spent any time queuing in order to get into MCM and the only time I did que at the event was to get food and to get into one of the panels.

Panels on the whole weren’t my main focus while I was at MCM but there were two that I really wanted to go to, the first was The Doctor Who writers panel and the second was a panel with three actors from a show called Game of Thrones. The Doctor who panel was packed and saw us queuing all the way back to the front door, but it was worth it in order to get a couple of sneak previews and to hear the answers to some rather interesting questions. There were lots of cool questions but the most interesting moment was when a fan tried to challenge Steven Moffat on continuity of the Doctor’s timeline and got totally owned.

IMG_0599IMG_0901Unlike that panel the Game of Thrones one was more heavily focused on the questions for the actors who played Lancel, Ser Meryn Trant and Ser barristan Selmy. I was hoping that the actor who played Davos would also be there but I thought that the three who were there, did an excellent job. It was interesting to hear what they thought of the character and there perspectives on acting and some of the best responses came after a question about there greatest challenges while in the role. Overall I have to say that I enjoyed this panel and the Doctor Who one immensely.

IMG_0362

Back on the floor of MCM was where the main action was going on and it was also where I spent a lot of time taking pictures. Anyone who knows me will know that I love taking pictures and I tend to take a lot of them, especially when there are so many amazing cosplayers at the event. I can’t tell you how many I took because it was a lot but it is safe to say that I had a lot of fun doing so and I am really grateful to everyone who stopped and allowed me to take a photo of them. If you went to MCM then go check out there facebook group as some of them will be on there and they will also be on My Facebook page.

IMG_0551IMG_0604

Everyday there were more and more incredible cosplayers and I took as many photos as I could and while I didn’t always know who they were meant to be, I was always impressed with the amount of effort that it must have taken to make them. It was also good to be able to take some good photos of my friends who had also put a lot of time, effort and money in making there cosplay outfits and I have to say that I think that they all did an incredible job and who knows maybe one day I will be able to do the same.

2 thoughts on “The October MCM 2015

Leave a Reply

