Calling All Spies

Your mission should you choose to accept it is to uncover the locations of your teammates whilst avoiding the enemy team, the innocent bystanders and of course the deadly assassin.

Codenames designed by Vlaada Chvátil is an incredible game of deduction as players have to find there team with only a one word clue from there spymaster to guide them. I first got to try out this game at a monthly board game evening hosted by Athena games in Norwich on Sunday night. The staff there really know there games and it was great to be able to play this game against them, especially as the games we really close and we had a lot of fun.

IMG_20151111_135815444

So on tuesday night when I was heading down to play some more games at the weekly meeting of NoBoG (Norwich Board Gamers) I just had to pick it up. We decided to wait until the end off the evening to play the game but it was more than worth the wait as I think everyone had a good time playing it. There was an odd number of us so I switched teams in the second round which went less well for me but at least we managed to avoid the assassin and the innocent bystanders (well for the most part anyway). Codenames is a great game to end the night with and works well as a social game that is as great to play with friends as it is with people you have just met.

IMG_20151111_135731726

However that was not the only game that I played last night as I started the evening off with a little racing game called SteamPunk Rally. I had heard the name mentioned a couple of times at NoBoG but I didn’t really know that much about it until I was convinced to give it a go by a good friend of mine. The core mechanics of drafting/building up your racing craft while gaining dice and venting them to gain more space were all new ideas to me and it took me a while to really get the hang of it.

IMG_20151110_195447437

While I had no idea what I should be doing or what strategy was best to use I did manage to do quite well and even managed to get into quite a good position towards the end of the race. However the owner of the game know as Sam was proving the story of the tortoise and the hare to be true as he came from behind and stole the lead beyond all reasonable doubt. It was an impressive feat of gameplay and I have to congratulate him on his victory in that game.

IMG_20151110_195502014

SteamPunk Rally is a great game that I really enjoyed playing on tuesday night at NoBoG and I would highly recommend that you give it a go. I loved the theme and the mechanics of this game that has an absolute ton of re play value and while it takes time to learn it is still pretty easy to pick up. Speaking of picking things up I also acquired the UK map for Ticket to Ride as well although I have still got to learn how to play that version.

Hope you enjoyed reading my latest blog post about some of the games that I have picked up and played recently, if you are interested in gaming then why not check out one of my other blog posts.

One Night at NoBoG

7 Wonders of the Werewolf Boss Monster

The Drunk Tanner

2 thoughts on “Calling All Spies

Leave a Reply

