The Wonderful Pennsylvanian Vampire.

Tonight is the night that I finally got the chance to play the new UK/Pennsylvania map expansion at NoBoG and I also had my very first go at One Night Ultimate Vampire.

When I first heard that this map collection was going to be released I was beyond excited and I can’t tell you just how much I have been looking forward to playing it with the people at NoBoG. I had bought my copy the week before but this evening we broke out a copy owned by the The Orctioneer himself Quirkative. There have been many games that we have played together but that hadn’t happened for a while so it was good to be able to play Ticket to Ride with him again. We chose the Pennsylvania map to play on as it allowed us to play 5 players which meant that we could include everyone and it is meant to be the easier of the two maps.

Pennsylvania works the same as pretty much every Ticket to Ride map out there except that when you claim a route you also have the option to take shares in a railroad company as well which can mean big points at the end of the game. For example one company has a massive 30 points for whoever has the most shares while another has 20 points for its top spot which gives you a bit more to think about but it can also mean that any player has a good chance at taking victory.

IMG_20151117_212252592

We had a really fun game with only a little bit of blocking and fighting for certain routes with the new players doing exceptionally well throughout. The Orctioneer and myself are both experienced players but the new players were certainly giving us as a run for our money and I was sure one of them was going to win. However the Orctioneer managed to take the globetrotter bonus of 15 points and when the shares came out, both the Orctioneer and myself shot into the lead but in the end it was me who stood victorious. It was a good game and I rather enjoyed playing it at NoBoG this week, hopefully it won’t be to long before I can get a go at the Uk side of the board.

It was at this point that the Orctioneer had to depart and so did another of our group which left three of us with a decision to make. We had a bit of a chat about what we wanted to do and a little while later we were breaking out a copy of 7 Wonders. One of group had never played it before and I have ever only played it once but after this night it is fast becoming a favourite of mine as it was a lot of fun to play and I think I am actually starting to get a hang of it now.While the game did have a few challenges, it was a lot of fun and I had a great time playing with the people who were in my group as it was nice to be able to play with someone that I don’t usually get to play with often and someone who had just popped along for the very first time.

IMG_20151117_222709094

7 wonders with three players is an interesting affair as you get to see and interact with both of the other players in every round unlike in the 7 player game that I describe in my blog post entitled 7 Wonders of the Werewolf Boss Monster where there are some players that you will never interact with and will never interact with you. Although I have to say that I think that I did a lot better in this game than I did in the last one but much like that other game the scores were really close and only 1o points separated first from last place. I may have only played two games but I am definitely considering picking up my own copy of 7 Wonders.

The last game of the evening was another brand new game that my friend Lewis A.K.A WeirdFTW had recently received after backing it on kickstarter a while ago. The first game started to suffer from two many cooks at one point as several people joined in to explain the rules but eventually we got there and began our first game.

IMG_20151117_235241

I started of as a diseased player who somehow managed to find a priest to infect but luckily they had something to put an end to those kind of shenanigans. The discussion that followed proved to be very entertaining to say the least and they made a good attempt at trying to confuse the village but it didn’t take long to weed out the vampires in our midst.

One Night Ultimate Vampire thus came to a close and I had to duck out of a potential second game as it was already getting pretty late by that point in the evening. Being part of the winning team on the first game was pretty good and I have to say that I really enjoyed playing that game and I can’t wait to have a go at some of the other roles that it has to offer.

3 thoughts on “The Wonderful Pennsylvanian Vampire.

    1. Ticket to Ride is one of my favourite games to play and I am really enjoying some of the variants it has. only just started playing 7 wonders though so still got a lot to learn with that one.

Leave a Reply

