Turning 23

Exactly a week ago I went to Norwich to play some games with Norwich Board Gamers at the Mash Tun in Norwich on the same day that I was to turn 23.

Playing board games might not be everyones idea of a good way to spend a birthday but I have to say that I rather enjoyed myself and it was good to play games with so many people. What made it even better was that I got to play several rounds of One Night Ultimate Werewolf with my good friends Chris, Lauren, Andy, Martin and Lewis who owned the game, this was especially good as most of them hadn’t been down to NoBoG for quite some time. If you are interested in learning more about the game and how it went then why not check out my blog post entitled One Night Ultimate NoBoGIMG_20151129_104406940

My collection of board games also grew a bit more that day with the addition of the UP expansion for Lords of Vegas which was given to me by good friend Lewis. Lords of Vegas is a great game and the expansion adds a couple more players and a new level to the game so I am looking forward to giving that a go at some point in the near future. The game itself doesn’t get to the table that often but I always have a lot of fun when it does, even if there can be a fair bit of downtime between turns but that is all part of the game.

As well as that I also got two card games, the first was called the Game which sees players working together to play all the numbers in a deck while the other is called We Didn’t play test at all and even after a week I still have no idea what is going on with that game. This year has seen my involvement with Board Games grow and so has my collection with games such as Lords of Vegas, Castles of Mad King Ludwig and the wonderfully fun social game Codenames. The photo below is just part of the collection of games that I have now collected and I have had lots of fun playing them with friends and family alike.

IMG_20151116_220948

However most of the day was spent opening cards, presents and generally having a good time at home with the family and what better way to spend time with them than by consuming a few slices of delicious birthday cake. I was given the option of selecting my own birthday cake but I wanted the mystery and so when I came down in the morning I was greeted with a red cake with an image of spiderman on it which I thought was actually pretty cool. Cake is not something that I have all that often as to much is definitely not good for you but you kind have to on special occasions such as this and I just wanted to say that it was a very nice cake indeed. IMG_20151201_143201

After cake I had a bit of tidying up to do as I wanted to make some room in order for me to comfortably sit down and take a look at this two incredible stories which I had received from my good friends Tom & Jessie the weekend before when we had our monthly meal. I also want to thank a good friend of mine called Lauren who came up with the idea of using the monthly meal as my birthday celebrations  as we realised how busy we would all be during December this year.

Anyway I had been looking out for The Killing Joke for quite some time, even more so since I missed out on purchasing it at MCM back in October and I was absolutely thrilled to receive it, the artwork is just incredible and I couldn’t wait to read the story. Ready Player One is the second book I received and while I haven’t had the chance to read it yet I have heard some very good things about the book, in fact I had put it on my secret santa list but obviously i have had to take that off now.

IMG_20151129_104342843

Another couple of things that I got were a pair of binoculars and a miniature Weeping Angel from my friend Jonny and Becky and I wanted to say that those are both pretty cool things and I am looking forward to getting some use out of them. All in all I had an amazing birthday, got to spend time with friends and the family and I got to play lots of games as well which is always a good thing but even more so on a birthday.

2015 has been an interesting year with lots of good things happening including trips to Thorpe Park, The Warner Bros Studio tour and of course going to MCM in October for the whole weekend. Iv’e made a few new friends, played a lot of board games and even competed in a national catan tournament at the UK Games Expo which I am looking forward to returning to in 2016.  Thank you to everyone who has been a part of a great year and thank you to all who have read, liked and commented on this blog of mine, it really means a lot and I hope to continue this for as long as possible. Thank you all.

ALL HAIL KING BOB

Leave a Reply

