5 Games that I want to play in 2016

Over the past year I have become more involved with the board gaming community with regular visits to NoBoG on tuesday nights at the Mash Tun in Norwich and I have also been many other places to play games. There have been a lot of great games that I have had the chance to play and while there are certain games that I like to play more than others, I am always on the look out for new games to try and here are five I want to have a go at in 2016.

7 Wonders

7 Wonders Duel is the first game on my list and the only one that has been specifically designed to be played by two players. Before christmas I bought my own copy of 7 Wonders which I have enjoyed playing quite a lot and while it does have a 2 player mode, I would be interested in seeing what Duel brings to the table. The only problem is that most of the time that I get to pay board games usually involves around 4 people or more so I have no idea when I would get this to the table.

Check out the game on Board Game Geek

Isle of Sky

Isle of Skye is the second game on my list and I have included this because it has appeared at NoBoG on a number of occasions but I have never had the chance to give it a go. From what I have hear it is very reminiscent of carcassonne which is a game that I own and enjoy playing but with a few more interesting mechanics. I recently saw a run-through of this game that was uploaded to youtube and it is high on my list of games to try in 2016.

Check out the game on Board Game Geek

Five Tribes

Five tribes is next on my list as it seems like an interesting board game to play with several friends recommending it to me after playing it themselves for the first time a few weeks ago. What I like about this game is the style and gameplay mechanics that are involved, like the previous game I have seen a run-through for it and it looks like a game that I should give a go at some point this year.

Check out the game on Board Game Geek

Grand Austria Hotel

Grand Austria Hotel follows on and this is a game that involves dice rolling and for filling the needs of customers in order to persuade them to come and stay at your hotel. While I am not usually a fan of games that involve dice due to my inability to get the dice I want when I want them, I do like the way that dice are used in this game and the them is also pretty interesting to say the least. From videos that I have seen it looks like a decent game but I guess I will have no way of knowing for sure until i give it a try, now just to find someone who has a copy.

Check out the game on Board Game Geek

champions of midgard

 

 

The last board game on my list is Champions of Midgard and the reason for this being here is that is has become somewhat popular at NoBoG with several games of it being played over the last few weeks. People have even commented that it might even be good enough to kill of Lords of Waterdeep, a game that I have enjoyed playing in the past and it would be interesting to see whether this statement rings true. With multiple copies in existence at NoBoG I don’t think it will be to long before I have the chance to really put it to the test.

Check out the game on Board Game Geek

 

These are just five board games out of many that I would like to play a game of and with so many games out there I am sure that I will have the chance to try a lot of new ones in 2016. As for these five I am looking forward to giving them a go and I will make sure to review them once I have had the chance to give them a go.

If you are interested in board games and know any you think I might like or any that you would like to recommend then free to leave me a comment below.

One thought on “5 Games that I want to play in 2016

Leave a Reply

