The Corrupt Lord of Waterdeep

Since NoBoG has been at the Mash Tun in Norwich I have played a variety of games with many different people but one game that I haven’t played here was Lords Of Waterdeep. However not only did I get to play it this week I also got to play it with 5 other players and the expansion Scoundrels of Skullport, we assured them that it wouldn’t last that long but how wrong we were.

Lords of Waterdeep is a worker placement game that sees players utilising the help of meeples to gain cubes in order to comple quests which in turn score them points as well as other bonuses which is pretty cool. This time around I got to be the Silverstars with a lord that wanted me to complete Skullduggery and Arcana quests in return for bonus points at the end of the game but as usual I started with neither of these types of quests.

IMG_20160209_205026603

When this game started I was two places after the start player and remained so for most of the game which is mostly due to the fact that the player who first started continued to go on the start player space on multiple rounds. While this may seem a bit strange it did actually work for him as he used his first player status to take the one and only builder spot every turn, mostly because he got some great bonuses but also because he was the builder which means he would get additional points for each building he placed on the board.

One of his first buildings was one that got rid of two corruption tokens at a time from the player who went there with the tokens being removed from the game which is very useful as every one a player has left at the end of the game is worth a number of minus points. So why would you bother doing actions or completing quests that involved gaining corruption, well because those same actions grant players more cubes, more options and they can help you complete the more difficult quests.

IMG_20160209_205042433

As you can probably tell I made great use of these new options and the spaces that get rid of corruption, these spaces were especially useful for completing a massive 40 point quest that saw me leapfrog over everyone else and into first place. Sadly this didn’t last long as there were several other players who also completed 40 point quests which meant that it started to get even more competitive than it already was.

One of my favourite quests that I completed was one that gave me ten points and allowed me to draw four intrigue cards from the deck and I could play them instantly if I wanted to. I had two cards that delt corruption to people who already had more than me which meant that I gave two more corruption tokens to a guy who already had a ton of them. While that didn’t do much I did get a pretty cool one that gave me 8 victory points for giving another player one of my purple cubes.

IMG_20160209_223122583

While it was good to give more corruption to a player already had some it did mean that they spent the remainder of the game using the building that removes it from them and the game. This was unfortunate for me as I was then unable to use that space which meant that I couldn’t shake my own corruption, I was so corrupt that I lost a massive 45 points which left me on 71 and in second last at the end of the game.

Going all the way from first to second last was absolutely devastating but if I hadn’t of taken the quests and the actions that gave me all that corruption in the first place I would have actually been even lower on the score board. Just goes to show that corruption doesn’t pay, well unless you make sure that you can get rid of it that is.

IMG_20160209_230645975

In the end the game was won by the only girl at the table who name escapes me right now, she did a great job in her first game as she managed to complete 6 warfare quests which meant that she got a ton of bonus points.

Lords of Waterdeep is a very good game and I am glad that I got to play it again, I really like it as a game and I also like what Scoundrels of Skullport adds to the overall experience. There is a lot of options in this game and while there are some more powerful spaces but there is also corruption that reduces your final score, adding an interesting dilemma to your decision making.

Last week I got to play Spirit Island

 

Leave a Reply

