Urinetown: The Musical

This week I had the absolute pleasure of seeing a musical called Urinetown at the Maddermarket theatre in Norwich. This was the third time that I have been to this incredible venue this year and even though I didn’t really know much about it, I came away having had a brilliant evening.

Entering the theatre I saw the amazing set up they had going on with two of the actors already on stage and in character. Seeing them do there thing while we waited for it to start was a little unsettling but kinda cool at the same time as it made me even more curious as to what was going on.

Everyone know I like a good musical and this was definitely a good musical, the songs were very good and showed off some incredible performances from the cast. My favourite musical number has got to be Run Freedom Run which was a lot of fun to watch, the choreography and the way it was done kinda reminded me of one of those gospel choirs.

IMG_20160408_002037

Urinetown is set in a dystopian future where the water levels have dropped and peoples access to their own private toilets has become a thing of the past. Now people have to visit public facilities run by the UGC (Urine Good Company) and pay a fee if they want to pee.

After a prominent figure gets sent to Urinetown and a price hike in the rate to pee, it is not long before the seeds of rebellion start to grow. The story focuses on the growing rebellion and the troubles they are all facing as well as the love between people on both sides.

What is cool about this musical is that it is very aware of what is and what it is trying to do, having the inspector work as the narrator was a pretty cool touch. It is often through the interactions between him and little sally that the audience get to find out more about the story and where it is going.

IMG_20160407_180720

The way that the stage was set up, the use of scenery and the costumes created such a rich and dramatic atmosphere which really made the whole show come to life. All of the costumes where amazing to behold but out of all of them my favourite has got to be the one worn by the inspector.

Urinetown was absolutely incredible and I am so glad that I got the chance to see it while it was at the Maddermarket theatre in Norwich. This show is like nothing I have ever seen before and I had such a good time watching it, if you get the chance to see it then I would highly recommend doing so.

Les Miserables

The Star Spangeld Banner

 

2 thoughts on “Urinetown: The Musical

Leave a Reply

