The Jungle Book

The Jungle Book is the story of a man-cub named Mowgli who has to leave the jungle and those who raised him after receiving a threat from a tiger known as Shere Kahn. On the way he is guided by a panther called Bagheera and the bear Baloo, along the way he also meets some creatures who don’t have his best interests at heart and he learns more about himself and where he comes from.

The first time I saw the Jungle Book was when I was a kid although I had no idea that it was actually made in 1967. That version was directed by Wolfgang Reitherman and I still have very fond memories of watching it when i was a lot younger.

Screen shot 2016-04-17 at 19.05.45

So as you can probably imagine I was excited going into this film, especially after hearing so many positive things from reviewers who had already seen it. Even the member of staff who handed me my ticket made a comment about how good it was and you know what, they were right.

First off I just want to say how well Neel Sethi did as Mowgli, acting in a completely CGI environment is tough for anyone, let alone someone his age. His performance was really really good and I am sure he will go on to do great things in the future.

Screen shot 2016-04-17 at 19.00.29

Bill Murray as Baloo was an absolute delight to watch and his performance of the bear necessities alongside mowgli felt so natural and really brought the nostalgia home for me and for the whole audience. Meanwhile the I want to be Like you song with a King Louie voiced by Christopher Walken came out of nowhere and felt a bit jarring, however it was also a pretty cool sequence to watch.

In this film Shere Kahn is voiced by Idris Elba and has one of the best entrances of a movie villain that I have seen in a long time. Every time this character was on screen you knew that either something bad was about to happen or something could, this was a constant reminder to the audience of the danger that Mowgli was in.

Screen shot 2016-04-17 at 19.00.52

Scarlett Johansson pops into the movie to entice Mowgli as the devious snake Kaa in visually interesting sequence in which we learn more about the boy and why Shere Kahn despises him so much. Meanwhile Ben Kingsley does the voice of Bagheera who is essentially the voice of reason and has multiple sequences where he gets to do some cool things and I thought that he worked well alongside Neel  Sethi as Mowgli.

The one thing I will say about this movie is there are a lot of emotional moments and I am sure that when I saw it there was not a single dry eye in the entire audience. There is a real connection to the characters and the journey that they go through over the course of the film.

Screen shot 2016-04-17 at 19.00.18

If you are looking for a good film to see with the family or you are just looking for a good film then I would highly recommend going to see the Jungle Book. The story is really good, the characters are well developed and if you go and see it I am sure you will have a great time.

2 thoughts on “The Jungle Book

  1. Hi there! This post could not be written any better! Looking at this post
    reminds me of my previous roommate! He constantly kept preaching about this.
    I will forward this information to him. Fairly certain he will have a very good read.
    Many thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

