Champions of NoBoG

At the beginning of the year I made a list of the 5 games that I wanted to play this year and this week I finally got to cross Champions of Midgard off that list. I have wanted to play this game for so long but every time it appears it either gets swarmed instantly or I already have people wanting to play one of my games which is why I was so happy to finally get a chance to play it.

IMG_20160517_202443609

On our table was Elliott and Rich who have both played the game on multiple occasions while Andy and myself were playing it for the very first time which meant a rules explanation.  Elliott did a great job of explaining the game and it wasn’t long before we were away, fighting monsters and passing blame.

Early on in the game I got the ability to get rid of a blame token or give everyone else one but I decided to be nice which proved to be a mistake as I got my blame token back in the very next turn thanks to andy. However the one good thing about that was it lead to a truce which we used to pass more of the blame tokens on to Rich and Elliott.

IMG_20160517_211936323

Meanwhile Rich was spending a lot of time at the sage’s hut to get a lot more missions and it meant that I had trouble completing the only one I had. I did get a few cool powers over the course of the game including one which gave me half the points rounded down on a monster in addition to its regular points which I used on a 15 point monster for a total of 22 points.

Going over seas to fight monsters was a lot of fun, I enjoyed it so much that I even purchased my own ship so I could send even more of my fighters. Plus it gave a few extra points which was cool, I’m just lucky that I had calm seas for most of my journeys and enough re rolls for when things went bad.

IMG_20160517_212000841

Their is a lot of strategy in terms of where you go, who you fight and when I thought that the special abilities that the characters had were pretty cool. My character was Asmundr who gave me points when I choose to use my re-roll tokens which came in pretty handy.

Champions of Midgard was a lot of fun and I can’t believe just how close this game was but Rich played a really good game and earned his victory. As for me I was happy with second place in my first ever go at this game and I am really looking forward to the next time that I get to play Champions of Midgard at NoBoG.

Leave a Reply

