MCM MAY 2016

Last weekend I attended MCM at the Excel centre down in London with 9 of my closet friends and had one of the most amazing weekends I have ever had. We all took the train down together and stayed in Woolwich Arsenal which was great as it wasn’t that far from the venue and I managed to take quite a lot of photos over the course of the three day event.

IMG_2039

For the first day we all decided to stick together as much as we possibly could while we looked around the two halves of the Excel centre where the event was being held. There was so much to see there and it was great staying together on the first today, especially as we had our good friend David with us who was attending his very first MCM.

That first day saw a lot of us purchasing things that we wanted and David even got into the spirit of things by buying a few items to add to his cosplay which paid off as he and Becky were invited to the Marvel Superhero meet the very next day. Luckily I had come out of a panel just as their cosplay meet started and I was able to go along and snap a few photos.

IMG_2251

While I was at MCM I decided to attend some of the panels and ended up going to three of them, the first of which was called Superstars of Shield. This panel consisted of Simmons (Elizabeth Henstridge), Hunter (Nick Blood), Lincoln (Luke Mitchell) and Ana Jarvis (Lotte Verbeek).

This is a show that I have watched since the start and one that I have really enjoyed although due to being busy I have kind of missed quite abit of the latest series. However that didn’t matter as they were all brilliant, they gave brilliant answers to some great questions and I had an incredible time at this panel.

IMG_2195

NCIS from L.A. to Washington was the second panel I went to and was attended by Marty Deeks (Eric Christian Olsen), Kensi Blye (Daniel Ruah) and they were joined by Dr. Jeanne Benoit (Scottie Thompson) which was a nice surprise.

NCIS is one of my favourite shows and I have watched pretty much every episode from all three versions of the show. It was great to see these three hanging out on stage, telling stories and generally having a lot of fun, we got to hear some great stories and saw how Daniel auditioned which was pretty cool and I rather enjoyed this panel.

IMG_2284

However the panel that every one was waiting for was called Lex v The Big Bang and featured Lex (Jessi Eisenberg), Raj (Kunal Nayyar) and Bernadette (Melissa Rauch) who came out in the second half. The first half was devoted to a play called The Spoils that Jessi and Kunal are performing in at the moment and you know what, I might just have to go and see it now I know its a comedy.

When Melissa came out the questions switched to being about the Big Bang Theory much to the delight of the packed out theatre we were in. There were some interesting questions and a lot of question dodging from Jessi in particular but the coolest point was when Kunal noticed the lady signing the conversation and made everyone sing soft kitty so she would have to sign it.

IMG_2331

Even though I had experienced an MCM before now, I was still surprised at just how busy the saturday got. It was crazy busy and I found that day to particularly tiring but that day the sun really came out that day and gave me some great pictures of the cosplayers outside although it did leave a few of us a little burnt.

Apart from the Big Bang theory panel, the last day at MCM was pretty quiet overall. I did get to try out Battleborn with some of the guys and had no idea what I was supposed to be doing which may or may not have contributed to our close second place finish.

On the last part of the day we all split up to go and do our own thing/check out the stalls we wanted to take another look at without the pressure of the group wanting to move on and this is when I saw some pretty cool items and took a few more photos of some of the incredible cosplayers. Here are just a few of the amazing cosplays I saw from the event.

IMG_2366

IMG_2384

IMG_2123

MCM this May was absolutely crazy and I just want to tank all my wonderful friends for one of the best weekends that I have had in a long time. There were ups there were downs and there were a lot of laughs and I know it wouldn’t have been even half as good were it not for your good selves.

I also want to thank those of you who commented on my cape, I know my outfit wasn’t much in terms of cosplay but it was nice to hear. Also a massive thank you to all the cosplayers who posed for photos, I hope you and everyone else had a great time at this event and I will hopefully see you in October. Who knows you may also get to see me in an actual cosplay, now wouldn’t that be nice.

Check out my facebook page to see more photos from the event

James Hayward Productions

The October MCM

group shot

 

Leave a Reply

