The Royal Norfolk Show

Over the last two days the Royal Norfolk Show took place at the Norfolk Showground. This event has been going for as long as I can remember but every year I have either been too busy to go or I haven’t had the interest but this year that all changed when I was invited to attend for the first time.

IMG_20160629_105958761

Originally I wasn’t planning on going to this event but last week I was invited to attend and help out with gathering vox-pops for Future Radio. I thought that this would be a great opportunity to get some more radio experience and to see a show that I had avoided for so long.

On the day I arrived by bus, straight from the station which was pretty nice. The sun was out and the queue to get in moved quickly, all I had to do then was to find the Radio Norfolk stand where I had planned to meet the others from Future Radio.

IMG_20160629_173518

After a bit of searching I found my colleagues and after a brief discussion we collected our press badges and began collecting vox-pops. At this point we all split off to cover more ground which made sense as there was quite a lot to see and do at the Royal Norfolk Show.

The main ring saw a lot of action with men falling from planes to form a display with their parachutes and also saw a lot of horses in action. I didn’t get to see a lot from this area as I was to busy wandering around the show and talking to lots of different people about how they were enjoying it all.

IMG_20160629_131737

The Royal Norfolk show is predominately about animals such as sheep, pigs and horses but there is so much more to see. They also Owls, Drones and even a few carnival rides to keep the kids happy.

 

However this was not the first time that I have ever been to a show like this. The first time was when I went to the Lincolnshire show to represent the University of Lincoln and this time I went to represent Future Radio.

IMG_20160629_132943258

Overall I have to say that I enjoyed the show a lot more than I thought I would and it was great to be able to talk to so many people about their involvement with the show and what they liked about it. I don’t know when I will next go to one of these events but when I do I think I will have to convince a few of my friends to come along too.

Leave a Reply

