John Wick Chapter 2

Like a lot of people I had heard good things about 2014’s John Wick which became a bit of a sleeper hit. It starred Keanu Reeves as a retired Hit man, forced back into the fight but like most people I had no seen it. So when I saw that Chapter two was still in cinemas I just had to see it.

MV5BMDg4NDFjNjUtY2QyMi00ZjI4LWE2NjItNDIxYmJhOGRlMTFiL2ltYWdlXkEyXkFqcGdeQXVyNjEwNTM2Mzc@._V1_

John Wick Chapter 2 is directed by Chad Stahelski and once again stars Keanu Reeves as John Wick. From what I can tell Chapter 2 starts very soon after the events of the previous film and even I didn’t know a whole lot about John Wick I did find that the opening told me a lot about who the character was and what he cold do.

Back home and John Wick receives a visit from Santino D’Antonio (Riccardo Scamarcio) who literally makes him an offer he can’t refuse. Now I was a little confused at this point thanks to not seeing the first film but Santino soon makes his intentions clear.

MV5BMzA0NjIyODY4OV5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTgwMTUyOTIyMTI@._V1_SX1500_CR0,0,1500,999_AL_

Throughout the film there were a lot of people who were disposable but there were a few who proved to be more than a match for John Wick. The first was Cassian (Common) who fought with John a couple of times over the course of the film. Their end of their first fight was pretty smart and their second actually made me laugh at one point.

Another one of John Wicks’ opponents is Ares (Ruby Rose) who communicates through the use of sign language. We don’t get to see a lot of people use sign language in films like this and I thought she made a great addition to the story. The fight sequence between Ares and John was incredibly well choreographed and exciting to watch.

MV5BMzdjY2FiZmItMmYyNi00NjlkLWI4MjItZTgwNWUyZTM2ZjEwL2ltYWdlXkEyXkFqcGdeQXVyNjczOTE0MzM@._V1_

Watching Laurence Fishburne and Keanu acting together reminded me of the Matrix while his homeless network reminded me a lot of Sherlock Holmes. Laurence plays a small role in this film as a man called Bowery King. While I would have liked to have seen him a little bit more, I did enjoy watching the scenes he had with Keanu.

Guns are used a lot over the course of this film and every time one would go off you would really feel it. Honestly the sound work in this film is incredible as is the choreography of the gun and fist fights. These types of combat have been seen thousands of times over the many films I have seen but few utilise them quite as well as they do here.

MV5BNGQzYjRlMGMtMzE2MC00MzMxLTlhNWMtNDAyMmYyZmMyZTVkL2ltYWdlXkEyXkFqcGdeQXVyNjczOTE0MzM@._V1_

The climax of this film is pretty exciting to watch and plays out in an interesting way. John Wick literally has to give up the support he has been afforded over the past two films and I think it will be very interesting to see how he lives without it in the next film.

 

 

Leave a Reply

